9 Cool AF Irish Olympic Athletes You Need To Follow On Instagram

Team Ireland has touched down in Rio.

Screen Shot 2016-08-05 at 16.51.33

The Rio de Janeiro Olympics start this weekend, and even if you won’t manage to tune in to every event, you can still keep updated via your Instagram feed.

The London Olympics in 2012 marked the first time that social media was a real presence at the Olympics, and though there are strict guidelines for any brand-related tweets, most of this year’s athletes have been sharing training updates, team shots and selfies with the Rio skyline to beat the band.

If you’re as excited as we are for Team Ireland’s chances at Rio 2016, here are nine Irish favourites to get following on Instagram ASAP…

Saskia Tidey, Sailing: @sastidey


This girl is total #fitspo.

 

Natalya Coyle, Modern Pentathlon: @natalyacoyle


Follow her training partner Sive Brassil for more behind-the-scenes updates too. The coolest besties going.

 

Kieran Behan, Gymnastics: @kieranbehan

Come on Ireland ??⚽️#coybig #euro2016

A photo posted by Kieran Behan (@kieranbehanirl) on


This is Kieran’s second time at the Olympics – he represented us back in 2012, too, and was the second EVER Irish gymnast to qualify. Oh, and he’s a bit of a hottie, but you didn’t hear that from us…

 

Alex Wright, Race-Walking: @alexwright36

40km done this morning to finish off 200k week #guadix #roadtorio #fuelyourambition #myprotein #racewalk #marcha

A photo posted by Alex Wright (@alexwright36) on


Alex is based in Cork but has been training in the 32 degree heat in Spain for the last few weeks to prep for Rio. Inspirational or wha’?

 

Ellis O’Reilly, Gymnastics: @ellisoreilly

Forever in chalk ?

A photo posted by Ellis O’Reilly (@ellisoreilly) on


Ellis, 18, grew up in Kent, but thanks to her Armagh-born grandfather, she’s competing for Team Ireland. This gal went straight from her A-levels to intense training for Rio like a total queen.

 

Nicholas Roche, Cycling: @roche_nicholas

@rio2016 lets go #teamireland @cyclingireland

A photo posted by Nicolas Roche (@roche_nicholas) on


Another stone-cold Olympic hottie we’d recommend adding to your feed.

 

Tori Pena, Pole Vault: @toripena

A photo posted by toripena (@toripena) on


Tori’s a native of California with Irish roots who does the majority of her training in Phoenix, Arizona. Safe to say she’s pretty well-travelled.

 

Ciara Mageean, Running: @c.mageean

Green tea, in my green mug before bed #teamireland

A photo posted by Ciara Mageean (@c.mageean) on


Ciara recently won gold at the European Athletics Championships, so we have big hopes for her chances in Rio.

 

Annalise Murphy, Sailing: @annalise_murphy

Ireland via Brazil!

A photo posted by Annalise Murphy (@annalise_murphy) on


Annalise was something of a breakout star at London 2012, and we reckon you’ll see her on the podium this year.

Tags:

Have your say

More like this