Congrats! Dermot Kennedy Scoops Award For Irish Song Of The Year

Did somebody say deserved?


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Dermot Kennedy (@dermotkennedy)

The winner of Irish Song of the Year for the RTÉ Choice Music Prize has been revealed today and it will come as no surprise that’s it’s Dermot Kennedy who has scooped the award! The news was announced this afternoon on the Tracey Clifford Show on RTÉ 2FM.

Announcing the award was The Script’s Danny O’Donoghue, who revealed that Dermot’s hit ‘Better Days’ was selected from the shortlist of 10 songs by a public vote.

The full list of artists nominated was:

Bobbi Arlo – Feel It

Dermot Kennedy – Better Days

Elaine Mai – No Forever feat. MayKay

Inhaler – It Won’t Always Be Like This

Jack O’ Rourke – Sea Swimming

Kynsy – Mr Nice Guy

Picture This – Things are Different

Shane Codd – Always on My Mind feat. Charlotte Haining

Soda Blonde – Small Talk

Soulé – Queenish

At the event this evening, held in Vicar Street, we will see the RTÉ Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year 2021 announced along with exclusive performances from some of the artists.

The artists nominated for album of the year are;

Bicep – Isles (Ninja Tune)

Mick Flannery & Susan O’Neill – In the Game (Rosaleen Records / Rosa Productions)

For Those I Love – For Those I Love (September Recordings)

Orla Gartland – Woman on the Internet (New Friends Music)

HousePlants – Dry Goods (Bone China Records)

Kojaque – Town’s Dead (Soft Boy Records)

Elaine Mai – Home (Elaine Mai)

Saint Sister – Where I Should End (Saint Sister)

Soda Blonde – Small Talk (Velveteen Records)

Villagers – Fever Dreams (Domino)

The winner will receive a cheque for €10,000, a prize which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA), as well as a specially commissioned award.